Education

The department's undergraduate education is mainly in the field of Energy technology within the M-program, but courses are also given for the F-program and the BI-program. Courses are given partly in basic subjects such as thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer and turbulence, and partly as more applied subjects such as internal combustion engines, power plant technology, gas turbines, gas technology, turbulent combustion, energy use and energy supply, energy and environment etc. More info about each course and course plans can be found on LTH's course page

In the courses, we use Canvas as a course portal. There you'll find all the material needed for the course. Log in via canvas.education.lu.se with the e-mail address as username and the password you received via e-mail. 

As a student, you can choose between the following Specializations:

 

  • Turbulence - Theory and Modelling MVKN90. 7,5 credits.  Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 2. Programme: M, Pi, F.
    Contact person: Johan Revstedt, johan.revstedt@energy.lth.se
  • Aerodynamics and Compressible Flow MMVN01. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 3. Programme: M.
    Contact person: Christoffer Norberg, christoffer.norberg@lth.se

  • Numerical Fluid Dynamics and Heat Transfer MMVN05. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 4. Programme: M, Pi, F.
    Contact person: Hesameddin Fatehi, hesameddin.fatehi@energy.lth.se

  • Advanced Methods within Numerical Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer MVKN70. 7,5 credits. Year 4 & Year 5: studyperiod 1. Programme: M, Pi, F.
    Contact person: Christer Fureby, christer.fureby@energy.lth.se

 

  • Introduction to Vehicle Systems MVKF15. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 1. Programme: M.
    Contact person: Martin Tunér, martin.tuner@energy.lth.se

  • Energy converters for sustainable transportation MVKN51. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 1. Programme: W. 
    Contact person: Sebastian Verhelst, sebastian.verhelst@energy.lth.se

  • Advanced Combustion Engine Concepts MVKN55. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 2. Programme: M. 
    Contact person: Per Tunestål, per.tunestal@energy.lth.se

  • Projekt - formula student MVKP05. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 1-4. Programme: F, C, D, E, I, M, MD, N, Pi. 
    Contact person: Marcus Lundgren, marcus.lundgren@energy.lth.se

  • Aerodynamics and Compressible Flow MMVN01. 7,5 credits. Year 3 & Year 4: studyperiod 3. Programme: M. 
    Contact person: Christoffer Norberg, christoffer.norberg@energy.lth.se

Mandatory courses

Alternative mandatory courses

 

Optional

Joint and other courses

  • Engineering Training Course MVKF97. 15 credits. Programme: B, BI, BME, C, D, E, F, I, K, L, M, MD, N, Pi, RH, V, W. 
  • Degree Project in Energy Sciences MVKM01. 30 credits. Programme: F, I, M, N, W. 
  • Bachelor Project in Energy Sciences MVKL01. 15 credits. Programme: F, M, N. 
  • Turbulent Combustion MVKN85. 7,5 credits. The course is offered every other academic year and will be given in 2021/22, 2023/24. Programme: F, M. 
    Contact person: Xue-Song Bai, xue-song.bai@energy.lth.se

For more information

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Martin Andersson 
martin.andersson@energy.lth.se
+46 46 222 4908

Education Coordinator

Isabelle Frej
isabelle.frej@energy.lth.se
+46 46 222 0763

Page Manager: isabelle.frej@energy.lth.se | 2021-09-30